Writing intermittently on life, politics, and society

Upon his hobby horse

I am all over this Cordoba House thing, I know. I just can’t wrap my head around some of the stuff I have been reading on the subject.

Sam Harris:

The erection of a mosque upon the ashes of this atrocity will also be viewed by many millions of Muslims as a victory—and as a sign that the liberal values of the West are synonymous with decadence and cowardice.

I don’t get it. It’s not at “Ground Zero”, and it’s more a YMCA than a mosque. I find it hard to believe that “many millions of Muslims” are on tenterhooks, waiting to declare victory as soon as the project goes ahead? This wasn’t even news until it was sensationalised and pushed by the New York Post.

I get the sense that Harris is making a case for the imposition of guilt to all Muslims for the acts of their co-religionists. Why else should the group behind Cordoba House -who are not connected to the Sept 11th in any way- remove their project from the vicinity of ground zero?

Leave a Reply

