Writing intermittently on life, politics, and society

A tiger on the leash

I was browsing Ta-Nehisi Coates’ blog and listened to this chilling NPR interview with Jeff Sharlet, who has done excellent work covering the Christian right in America, and has been looking at efforts to pass anti-gay legislation in Uganda.

I’ve written about politicised anti-gay sentiment in Uganda before at my other vanity project, where I argued that rather than overt LGBT or human rights advocacy (or even bribes and issuing threats to cut aid) pointing out the likely results of passing such a bill and outreach from moderate faith-based actors might prove more effective strategies to change the language of the bill or, as I should have written, kill it -which is what I would like to happen.

If there’s one thing that I find hard to take it is people’s humanity being pushed aside to make way for political ambitions.

Leave a Reply

